The Border– Gavaskar Trophy is a Test cricket series played between India and Australia.

The Border–Gavaskar Trophy is a Test cricket series played between India and Australia.

The Border– Gavaskar Trophy is a Test cricket series played between India and Australia. It is played via the International Cricket Council’s future tours program, every two years. This series is named after former captains, Australia’s Allan Border and India’s Sunil Gavaskar.

In competition for the trophy since 1996, Indian Sachin Tendulkar has been the most successful batsman, scoring 3262 runs from 65 innings and Indian bowler Anil Kumble is the most successful bowler, taking 111 wickets over 20 matches at an average of 30.32.


lets talk about the first ever border gavaskar trophy played in 1996–97 (one-off Test)

The 1996–97 one-off Test was the first to be played under the Border–Gavaskar Trophy. This was also Sachin Tendulkar’s first series as captain. The series consisted of just one match, played at the Feroz Shah Kotla Ground in Delhi.

The match, played from 10 to 14 October 1996, lasted just over four days, as India defeated Australia by seven wickets. Australia won the toss and elected to bat. But the Indian spinners, led by Anil Kumble, bowled them out for 182. Michael Slater top scored with 44 runs. In reply India scored 361, riding on Nayan Mongia’s career best 152. In Australia’s second innings, Steve Waugh scored 67 to get his team to 234. This left India with 56 to get in the fourth innings, and India won by 7 wickets.


Here played the most controversial match in border gavaskar trophy so far, Second Test, 2007–08 Border–Gavaskar Trophy

In This match number of wrong umpiring decisions given by international umpires Steve Bucknor and Mark Benson and allegations of poor sportsmanship against Australian players (even Adam Gilchrist who is known for his fair play) and Harbhajan Singh. The match ended in a dramatic defeat of the Indian team in the final ten minutes of the five-day match.

Now we will talk about the recent series held in 2020-21.

The first Test in Adelaide was a day-night Test in which India won the toss and elected to bat first.

First innings- India scored 244, led by captain Virat Kohli who scored 74 before being run out. In reply, Australia were bowled out for 191, giving India a lead of 53. Australian captain Tim Paine was the top-scorer in the innings, he finished on 73* off 99 balls


Second innings- India register their lowest total in Test cricket, just 36. It was also the lowest Test total in the 21st century. Not even a single batsman reached double figures. this happenend only the second time ever in Test cricket.


Josh Hazlewood recorded figures of 5/8 from 5 overs, the most economical five-wicket haul by an Australian bowler in Tests since 1947. Australia successfully chased the target of 90 runs inside 21 overs. They finished at 2/93, winning by 8 wickets. Tim Paine was named the player of the match for his batting and keeping.


The second Test, the Boxing Day Test, took place at the Melbourne Cricket Ground in Melbourne. In that test and the next two matches, India’s regular captain Virat Kohli was taking paternity leave. Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane would be leading India in Kohli’s absence. Australian captain Tim Paine won the toss and elected to bat first. Australia were bowled out for 195 in the first innings. In reply, Rahane’s century led India to 326, giving them a lead of 131 runs. In the second innings, Australia were bowled out for 200 giving India a target of 70 runs to win. Ajinkya Rahane was named the player of the match for his century in the first innings, also winning the first ever Mullagh Medal.



The third Test was played at the Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney, starting on 7 January 2021. Australian captain Tim Paine won the toss and elected to bat first. Australia posted a first-innings total of 338, including Steve Smith century and fifties from Marnus Labuschagne and debutant Will Pucovski. India bowled out for 244 with fifties from Gill and Pujara , giving Australia a lead of 94 runs. In the second innings, Cameron Green top-scored for Australia as they declared on 6/312 after 87 overs, giving India a target of 407 runs to win. Victory not looking easy, with only Rishabh Pant top-scoring at 97 runs followed by Cheteshwar Pujara with 77 runs. The match was eventually drawn after India ended their innings at 5/334 with the heroics of Ravichandran Ashwin and Hanuma Vihari who both batted for 289 balls. Steve Smith was named the Man of the Match.


The deciding fourth Test was played at The Gabba, Brisbane. Also names as ‘Gabbatoir’ or ‘Fortress Gabba’ in the cricketing circuit due to Australia’s unbeaten Test record at this ground in over 31 matches played over the last 32 years, India was called to field a bowling line-up that had a combined experience of four tests and only 13 wickets (including two by part timer Rohit Sharma) before this match. This Test was the 100th for Australia’s Nathan Lyon, the 13th Australian player to achieve that milestone. Australia won the toss and elected to bat first, compiling 369 in their first innings with a century by Marnus Labuschagne. India was dismissed for 336 in its first innings, giving Australia a lead of 33 runs. Australia were bowled out for 294 in their second innings, which gave India a target of 328 runs


here India successfully chased the target with three overs to spare on the final day. They finished at 7/329, winning by three wickets and winning the series 2–1. This was the first time Australia lost a Test match at The Gabba since 1988, while the last drawn match was in 2012. Pat Cummins was named the Man of the Series and Rishabh Pant was named the Man of the Match for his match winning knock of 89*. The ICC, according to its global polling results, regards this series as the Ultimate Test match series of all time.

And now we are heading towards Bordar-Gawaskar trophy 2022-23.

which will be held in India

Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Schedule

Date Match Venue TIME* (IST)

9th – 13th February 1st Test VCA Stadium, Nagpur 10:00 AM

17th – 21st February 2nd Test Arun Jaitley Stadium, Delhi 10:00 AM

1st – 5th March 3rd Test HPCA Stadium, Dharamsala 10:00 AM

9th – 13th March 4th Test Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad 10:00 AM







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *